Events

From hands-on workshops to community film screenings, public lectures to national exhibitions, find out what’s on with Scotland's Urban Past.

We run regular hands-on training workshops across the country for community projects and youth groups who are taking the lead in exploring and celebrating the history our towns and cities through Scotland’s Urban Past (SUP) projects.

SUP projects culminate in a diverse and inspiring range of events, from performance art and music through to walking tours and exhibitions.

Saturday, September 29, 2018 - 10:00 to 12:00
Discover your city's historical collections and understand the workings of an archive.
Friday, September 28, 2018 - 14:00 to 19:30
Join Scotland's Urban Past to learn how to reconstruct the history of your favourite places.
Saturday, June 23, 2018 - 10:00 to 16:00
Join the Scotland's Urban Past team to become an architect for a day
Thursday, May 17, 2018 - 10:00 to 16:00
Scotland's Urban Past is giving you the chance to learn how to reconstruct the history of your favourite places.
Saturday, April 28, 2018 - 10:00 to 16:00
A fast-track through history
Friday, December 8, 2017 - 10:00 to 16:30
Scotland's Urban Past is giving you the chance to personally uncover the history of your favourite places.
Saturday, October 21, 2017 - 13:00 to 15:30
Join us on Saturday for our first ever Survey Flashmob: an active, fast-paced survey all over Girvan
Saturday, October 21, 2017 - 10:00 to 12:30
Join us on Saturday for our first ever Survey Flashmob: an active, fast-paced survey all over Girvan
Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 14:00 to 16:30
Join the Scotland’s Urban Past team in a walking tour of Dingwall as a part of the Highland Archaeology Festival.
Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 10:00 to 12:30
Join the Scotland’s Urban Past team in a walking tour of Dingwall as a part of the Highland Archaeology Festival.
Monday, August 7, 2017 - 10:00 to 16:00
Scotland's Urban Past is giving you the chance to personally uncover the history of your favourite places.
Wednesday, July 26, 2017 - 10:00 to Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 16:00
Help to identify and record the archaeology of this historic friary
Tuesday, July 25, 2017 - 17:00 to 19:00
Join us in Lerwick, in partnership with Archaeology Shetland, to learn how to document your environment
Tuesday, July 4, 2017 - 15:00 to 17:00
Join us for Urban Detectives in Dunfermline
Wednesday, June 7, 2017 - 09:45 to 15:45
Join us for a free gathering to explore innovative uses of maps
Saturday, June 3, 2017 - 10:00 to 16:00
Join us for a day of oral history
Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 10:00 to 16:00
Join us for a free all day event to explore the unique history of St John’s Tower in Ayr.
Thursday, April 6, 2017 - 17:00 to 19:00
Learn how you to research and record your local landmarks at this interactive workshop in Perth & Kinross
Thursday, March 9, 2017 - 13:30 to 15:30
Learn how you to research and record your local landmarks at this interactive workshop in Fife
Wednesday, February 8, 2017 - 12:30 to 16:00
Learning how to get involved with fieldwork through SUP's urban detectives
Saturday, November 26, 2016 - 11:00 to 12:30
Learn how you to research and record your local landmarks at this interactive workshop in Hawick.